Vegan Valentine

16 Feb

On Monday night my valentine and I ate a five course vegan dinner at Karyn’s on Green. Neither my date nor I are vegan but we both love vegetables, culinary adventures and healthy food. The dinner was excellent, each and every dish we ordered was amazing. Living in Chicago I am blessed with all kinds of cuisine options and good vegetarian and vegan options are becoming more and more abundant. The only thing that was questionable was the fashion show. There were men and women walking in between tables wearing lingerie. Maybe it’s just me but butts in my face while I eat food isn’t all that sexy.

Anyway, back to the food, my date and I shared each plate so we could try as much as possible.

First Course
Both of the items from the first course were delicious.  The Fig & Walnut Stuffed Cherry Peppers on a Bed of Arugula and Extra Virgin Olive Oil were delicious. The salad with fresh figs complemented the savory peppers perfectly.

Fig & Walnut Stuffed Cherry Peppers

Fig & Walnut Stuffed Cherry Peppers

After sampling the Avocado & Pomegranate Ceviche on Sliced Zucchini and Mignonette Sauce I learned that not only can I eat raw zucchini, but I like it.

Avocado Pomegranate Ceviche on Zucchini

Avocado Pomegranate Ceviche on Zucchini

Second Course
This Zinfandel Poached Strawberry & Almond Rose Soup was raw, gluten-free and soy-free. It was very light and had a unique flavor. I enjoyed it.

Raw Strawberry Almond Rose Soup

Raw Strawberry Almond Rose Soup

I definitely preferred the Cauliflower Bisque with Roasted Beech Mushrooms. It was savory, hearty and warm. Perfect for a chilly February night in Chicago. I prefer warm soups in general so it was no surprise that I preferred this one over the strawberry soup.

Cauliflower Bisque

Cauliflower Bisque

Third Course – Salad
Both salads were excellent. I ate most of the Beets & Ruby Red Grapefruit on Spinach & Red Cabbage with Pomegranate Vinaigrette. I don’t usually eat salads with dressing but the Pomegranate Vinaigrette was perfectly seasoned and light enough that it didn’t bother me.

Beets with Spinach and Red Cabbage

Beets with Spinach and Red Cabbage

The Baby Bok Choy & Spicy Kimchi on Mixed Greens with Sesame Vinaigrette was also excellent. I personally don’t think you can go wrong with a plate of mixed greens. The dressing was excellent, however it was a little overpowering and very salty.

Baby Bok Choy with Mixed Greens

Baby Bok Choy with Mixed Greens

Fourth Course
Next were the large plates, Stuffed Roasted Chicken with Braised Spinach, Figs & Pearl Onions on Fennel Cous Cous. I am not a huge fan of soy however in this dish the ‘chicken’ was excellent. The dish was savory and bursting with flavor.

Stuffed Roasted Chicken Braised Spinach Over Cous Cous

Stuffed Roasted Chicken Braised Spinach Over Cous Cous

The Roasted Red Beet Risotto with Aged Cashew Cheese Shavings and Grilled Asparagus was on the sweeter side and hearty as well. This was my first time eating cashew cheese and I loved it! I want to get my hands on some more. This plate was extremely filling, I had a hard time finishing it.

Red Beet Risotto with Aged Cashew Cheese

Red Beet Risotto with Aged Cashew Cheese

Fifth Course – Dessert
I only took a photo of one of the desserts but both were equally awesome. I’m not the biggest chocolate person but the Red Velvet Chocolate Terrine with Raspberry Coulis and Vanilla Ice Cream was divine and decadent. I couldn’t tell that this was vegan.

Chocolate Terrine

Chocolate Terrine

The other photo-less dessert was a raw, gluten-free, soy-free Almond Crusted Strawberry Cheesecake with Cocoa Nibs and Strawberry Coulis. Heaven on earth. I’d get both desserts again.

If you live in Chicago or are passing through I highly recommend Karyn’s on Green. My super-meat eating date and I left full, satisfied and happy with our dinner.

One Response to “Vegan Valentine”

  1. simplyshaka February 17, 2011 at 3:03 am #

    I don’t even know what single thing to point out in this post because everything looks too good to be true (and to be vegan) I am definitely jonesing for some ceviche now though.

    The lingerie show is different but I guess something that set them apart from others for Valentines Day? Unless it’s a Chicago thing?!

Leave a Reply

