Full flavor and food philosophy

9 Feb

My food philosophy… what I eat is healthy, tastes great and gives me the energy I need for future activities. In other words when I prepare meals I make sure that they are nutritious, bursting with flavor and won’t put me in a food coma after I’ve eaten them. From time-to-time I eat strictly for flavor, but for the most part this is it folks and most of what you’ll be seeing from now on is food prepared with this intention.

Eating this way has gotten me in tune with my body and what it needs. I look at it as tapping into survival instincts, well modern-day survival instincts. I don’t eat huge portions so it’s important for me to eat every couple of hours otherwise my body starts to get tired and my mind slows down. Those are both no-nos in a fast-paced corporate environment since I want to move ahead and be productive.

Yesterday’s lunch was no exception to my philosophy. This shrimp, navel orange and quinoa salad kept me full and full of energy. It was a party for my taste buds and treat for my body. It does look festive, doesn’t it?

Shrimp, navel orange and quinoa salad

Shrimp navel orange and quinoa salad

Ingredients:
1 tsp coconut oil (or preferred cooking oil)
4 raw jumbo shrimp, peeled and deveined
1 tsp fresh-squeezed lemon juice
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp chipotle chili powder

1/2 cup cooked quinoa
1 cup raw spinach, lightly packed
1 peeled navel orange, sliced
(if you can get your hands on an heirloom navel orange, DO IT!)
1 small bunch walnuts
2 small colored beets, sliced

Step 1:
Drizzle lemon juice over shrimp. Then sprinkle with paprika, garlic powder and chili powder. Let stand for 5 – 30 minutes.

Step 2:
Heat oil in a small skillet over medium heat. Sautee shrimp for approx. 3 minutes on each side, or until cooked through. The shrimp will turn pink. Remove from skillet, set aside.

Step 3:
In a bowl or plate place quinoa at the bottom of the dish. Layer spinach on top until quinoa is covered. Add the rest of the ingredients and top with shrimp. And enjoy!

Do you notice a difference in energy levels depending on what you eat? Which natural foods are your favorite energy boosters?

7 Responses to “Full flavor and food philosophy”

  1. sam February 9, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    this looks absolutely delicious! i am drooling! i wish i had that to eat instead of what i actually brought in for lunch today!!

  2. 40daykedge February 10, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    Thanks Sammy! I’ve been an experimenting fool in the kitchen and so far have been coming up with some yummy combos. When we talk I want you to give me details about your cooking classes, because I want to take some too.

  3. simplyshaka February 11, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Loving this recipe! It seems like a good recipe for all seasons and you know I am always looking for something with quinoa.

    I can definitely tell a differences based on what I eat. When I eat fresh ingredients/less processed food, I have a lot more energy that when I have things that are not from the earth, packed with sodium, etc.

  4. Danielle February 11, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    I love this, although my food isn’t nearly as interesting. I’m going to work on that!

    • 40daykedge February 12, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      Thanks D. But your eye for gorgeous design is fabulous! I love experimenting. Last year for three months straight I made one new recipe per week with an ingredient that I had never used before. It definitely expanded my culinary horizons.

  5. Angela (the diet book junkie) February 15, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    that salad looks great! and oh yeah, i definitely notice when i’m not eating right. spinach is an absolute MUST in my diet. it really is a superfood.

    • 40daykedge February 16, 2011 at 12:33 am #

      Thanks Angela. I feel so much better after eating a bowl of spinach.

Leave a Reply

