Quinoa Scrambler, Resolution Approved

13 Jan

I’m always looking for ways to eat more vegetables. For breakfast it’s pretty easy to get some veggies in with my breakfast burritos. But for the beginning of this year I wanted to create something new for breakfast. Mostly I’ve been eating oatmeal with fresh fruit so I’ve been missing my morning veggies. Not any more, this morning I whipped up “The Quinoa Scrambler”.

Quinoa Scrambler

Quinoa Scrambler

Quinoa is naturally high in protein and has a bit of a nutty flavor, once I add the eggs and vegetables I get a vegetable-packed breakfast with plenty of protein and a great taste.

Ingredients
1 TBS coconut oil (or oil of your preference)
1/2 cup copped red peppers
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp chipotle chili powder
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp flax seed
1/2 tsp sesame seeds
3/4 cup cooked quinoa
2 eggs 0r 4 eggs whites
1/2 cup raw spinach
1/2 tsp fresh squeezed lemon juice

Step 1
Heat a medium-sized skillet over medium – medium high heat. Put onions, red peppers and all ingredients through sesame seeds into the skillet. Sautée for 5-10 minutes depending on how soft you want your vegetables.

Step 2
Add quinoa to the mixture. I like to make multiple servings of quinoa and leave it in the fridge for the week. Mix with vegetables until warm, about 3-5 minutes.

Sautéed red pepper, onion and quinoa

Sautéed red pepper, onion and quinoa

Step 3
Next add eggs and mix until eggs are cooked to desired level of ‘done-ness.’ Turn off heat and mix in spinach until wilted. Place into a bowl and top with sliced avocado and coat with lemon juice.

I’m looking forward to mixing it up with different types of vegetables for the rest of this winter.

5 Responses to “Quinoa Scrambler, Resolution Approved”

  1. alyssa dyksterhouse January 13, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Thanks for this. I will try it this weekend. I just discovered Quinoa and yesterday used it in a black bean salad.

  2. simplyshaka January 14, 2011 at 3:39 am #

    Thanks for posting this. I bought a huge feedbag of quinoa at Costco this summer and am only half way through so I need to work on finishing off that bad boy! I actually eggplant stuffed with veggies and quinoa the other night and it turned out quite delectable and I fit in three or four veggies in that dish alone.

    I wonder how quinoa would hold up in soup? Perhaps you could make a soup or stew with that and veggies?

    • 40daykedge January 14, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

      I have no idea how quinoa would hold up in a soup, but I made chili with bulgar wheat and it was awesome. I think it would do very well in a hearty soup.

  3. Danielle January 14, 2011 at 6:11 am #

    YUM!!! Looks so good.

    Glad I could introduce you to some fabulous wallpaper. When are we getting together???

  4. Karina January 14, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Yum!! Can’t wait to try it. I love quinoa now since you introduced me to it last year Joanna!

Leave a Reply

