Holiday Party Highlights

17 Dec

There will not be a breakfast burrito today. I ate a peanut butter and jelly with sliced bananas sandwich, but here are a few highlights of my company holiday party instead.

The food at the holiday party was as colorful and diverse as our nail polish colors.

This year’s holiday party was held at District Bar. It’s an ‘upscale’ sports bar that turns into a dance party late night on any given weekend night. It’s a nice space for a sports bar, I’ve held a fundraiser there in the past.

As far as office parties go we had the usual open bar, buffet of hors d’ oeuvres, music and dressed up coworkers. Usually our office parties are monochromatic in food choices, so I wasn’t expecting much. To my surprise we had a rainbow of food at this years party. I stacked up a plate full of everything, this plate my second helping. Look at all those colors.

The full plate

The full plate

Here’s what’s on my plate, from the top left and clockwise:
• Bacon wrapped scallop
• Mini Chicago cheese-steak bite
• Teriyaki marinated grilled chicken skewer with sweet chili sauce
•  Salmon tartar with black sesame in radish cup
•  Tomato basil bruschetta with fresh mozzarella
• Grilled pita & hummus bite with olives and sun-dried tomatoes
•  Roasted mushroom cap stuffed with creamed spinach & parmesan-pine nut crust
•  Tuna tartar ala nicoise

Here’s what I ate and didn’t take a photo of:
• Buffalo chicken & bleu cheese flatbread
• Chicken & chorizo quesadilla with avocado cream
• Brownie bite with bailey’s whipped cream & maraschino cherry
•  Mini profiterole cream puff

Everything was delicious, my favorites were the bacon covered scallops and the buffalo chicken and blue cheese flatbread. The only disappointment was the grilled chicken skewer. It wasn’t bad, just not amazing. The sweet chili sauce had an odd aftertaste.

The Chicago steak bite was nice and spicy.

Chicago steak bite

Chicago steak bite

You can’t go wrong with bruschetta and fresh mozzarella.

Bruschetta

Bruschetta

And what’s not to like about tuna tartar on a potato chip?

Carpacchio

Tuna tartar ala nicoise

I’d recommend this place for an afternoon of football or any time you’re looking for some great bar food. I will definitely go back for the buffalo chicken and blue cheese flatbread.

How were your holiday parties?

3 Responses to “Holiday Party Highlights”

  1. simplyshaka December 18, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    That Chicago steak bite looks out of this world. I would have been all over the buffalo chicken flatbread you mentioned as well….even if you didnt take a picture, it sounds amazing.

    My company has never had a holiday party, which I find quite odd. I work for a huge company and kind of sad we don’t have parties.

    • Joanna Burgraf December 19, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

      We’re pretty lucky to have a nice party at the end of the year. As much as I complain about where I work, there are may good things about it, flexible hours, everyone is approachable, the occasional company sponsored party and the people I work with are smart.

  2. Sam December 23, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    ok, so you take the most delicious food photos! I need some pointers from the master 🙂

Leave a Reply

