A Slump

16 Dec

Maybe it’s the weather, maybe the stress and monotony of work, maybe it’s other personal stuff, but I’ve been in a slump. It’s this phenomenon that I know exactly how to change and at the same time I’m not doing anything about.

I’ve been diligently working out on the weekends. During the week I head straight home from work.  I cook or read or study when I get home. I stay up later than I want and then I go to bed late. Then I sleep in, get to work later that I wanted and start the same cycle. I already know that I focus and feel better after having gone to the gym, yet there are those days that I just don’t do it.

Then there’s my social calendar, I can’t seem to create a balance. I schedule to hang out with friends or go to events during the week and that throws off my schedule. I stay on track with training when I don’t plan to do anything with friends but then I feel like a hermit.

The truth of the matter is, I’m healthy by many standards. I eat well, I run, I lift weights. But that is just not the game that I’m playing. For as long as I can remember I have wanted to have a lean muscular body type like the women in fitness competitions (I’m not kidding, since I was 8 I remember watching shows of fitness competitions). For as long as I can remember I have been talking myself out of going for it. It may not be everyone’s goal to look like Jillian Micheal’s or have arms like Angela Basset or Madonna, but that’s just what I want. My current workout regimen is just not cutting it. It takes so much more than doing an ab workout once every couple of weeks to get rock solid abs, it’s not going to work to eat pizza a couple of nights per week or eat cookies over the holiday season. Maybe some can get away with it, but I don’t have those kinds of genes.

The question is, am I willing to do what it takes? Am I willing to listen to my trainer? Am I willing to go the extra mile? Am I willing to train those days that I want to the least? Am I willing to do what it takes? Will I even like it when I get there?

I have no idea but I do know one thing, I won’t know until I just go for it and I won’t know if I keep talking myself out it.

3 Responses to “A Slump”

  1. maura December 17, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    Go Joanna, I feel you. This has made me feel better. Thx… Next time I see you I expect rock hard abs, you go! ~Maura

    • 40daykedge December 17, 2010 at 3:49 am #

      Thanks Maura! It’s a good thing I went to the gym today. I’m really glad that this post made you feel better. I felt better to writing it. To be honest it took three days for me to even write it.

  2. K December 17, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    OMG, thanks for this! I’m in a slump too, and this helps me know I’m not alone. Can’t wait to see you Sunday!

Leave a Reply

