Hot Chocolate 15K, Done!

9 Nov

I did it! I ran 15 kilometers! And I ran them in 1hr 30 min 23 sec at a pace of 9:42. So not only did I run the longest race of my life I ran the fastest pace of my life. This is what I looked like after running 15K.

Jo with chocolate

Jo with chocolate (photo courtesy of Carolyn Rogowski- Liptak)

Here I am with my friend Carrie, who did her first 5k. She loved racing so much she’s going to do another run this weekend.

Carrie and Jo

Carrie and me (photo courtesy of Carolyn Rogowski- Liptak)

This is a photo she took of the amazing view:

Skyline

Chicago Skyline (photo courtesy of Carolyn Rogowski- Liptak)

It was a great run, I felt completely prepared after two and a half months of training. If you remember I created this training regimen a back in August.  Here’s what I did and didn’t do.

The daily actions I will be taking from now until November 6 are:
• Logging my food intake everyday
Stopped logging food intake late September. I started to feel a bit obsessive about it, so I stopped with the intention of returning to it in October but I never did pick it back up.
• Doing my workouts and logging them everyday
I was 80% effective in logging my workouts and I did most of them. I ran at least twice a week every week and I did plenty of foam rolling and stretching. I was also consistent with weight training 2-3 times per week.
• Getting 7-8 hours of sleep per night
I stopped logging this when I stopped logging my food intake, but I did become much more aware of my sleeping patterns and generally have started sleeping more.

• Ask at least one person per day one of two questions:
What are your dreams? What do you like about your life? What are you grateful for?
I started this off pretty consistently, asking my office mates, friends and family these questions but about a month into it I stopped.

In addition to the daily actions I will take some other miscellaneous actions:
• Host a ‘Clean’ dinner party at my home once a month Have not done this, but I do have a dinner scheduled at someone else’s home next month.
• Get a Sub Max test Did not do this, yet.
• Clean two closets Cleaned one closet.
• Paint bedroom walls Did not do this.

The conclusion is that I was too ambitious in declaring that I would take all these new actions and then not effective in scheduling them. Sometimes I would think about all the things I said I would do and it would make me tired and even distract me from my workouts. Next time I will focus on 2-3 actions and if I choose any miscellaneous actions I will pick a date and put them in my calendar right away, even if they’re two or three months out.

As for recovery after the run, my plans for the next week are to eat well, stretch, drink plenty of water and go to at least one yoga class. I’m signing up for a couple other races, I’ll post more about those later in the week.

I know at least a couple of readers who ran this weekend, how was your experience? Are you happy with your time? What’s next for you?

3 Responses to “Hot Chocolate 15K, Done!”

  1. simplyshaka November 10, 2010 at 12:44 am #

    I am so jealous of your race + time, you go! I love your friends hat also, way cute. Looks like you have some great goals set up. I used to log my food every single day but like you, got obsessive with it and stopped. I found if I just listen to my body and make smart choices I do better instead of tracking every morsel that goes into my body. I need more sleep as well, that is something I definitely do not get enough of.

  2. Danielle November 10, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    I was going to run the 5k but it was way WAY too cold. I have never run in those temps and was worried that I couldn’t do it. 😦 Congrats to you though! 15k! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life Works When I Workout « Joanna's Fitness + Nutrition Blog - November 17, 2010

    […] that awesome run I did almost two weeks ago, well that’s the last time I worked out. Initially I though it […]

Leave a Reply

