Halloween Treats

29 Oct

In the spirit of Halloween, we had our second potluck lunch and costume contest at work.

me

Lounging at the office

Mostly everyone plays and we had a full spread just like the last time.

Halloween Spread

Halloween Spread

We encourage everyone to make something from scratch and to refrain from just buying candy and cookies. I turned a layered dip into a healthy treat with this spider web guacamole and bean dip.

Spider web guacamole and beans

Spider web guacamole and beans

I used organic salt-free black beans for the bottom layer, my infamous guacamole in the middle, light Mexican blend cheese on top and organic plain  Greek yogurt for the spider web. I don’t think anyone missed the fat because most of it was gone by the end of lunch. If you would like the recipe, leave a comment and I’ll share it.

We also had an amazing ‘sandwich bar’ with cranberries, wheat toast, arugula, peanuts, tomatoes, cream cheese, cucumbers and turkey. The sandwiches were delicious.

Turkey sandwich bar

Turkey sandwich bar

Here’s my plate:

 

My plate

My plate

 

I also ate a few of the sweets and grazed on the dips and chips after dessert and have been full all afternoon. Chips and dips are my weakness. I can skip on desserts and chocolates, but I LOVE crunchy salty things. Sometimes I forget my commitment to healthy eating when I’m around a bowl of chips and dips. I definitely went overboard this afternoon.

If you’re observing Halloween, have fun wherever you go, and remember you don’t have to give in to the chips and dips.

 

2 Responses to “Halloween Treats”

  1. simplyshaka November 1, 2010 at 12:31 am #

    I love your costume–classy and elegant! We dont get to dress up for Halloween at work nor did we have a potluck so I am totally jealous of yours. The dip you made is too cute, that would gone within 5 minutes if I was there. Like you, I can’t be trusted around dips. I went to a football party on Friday night and there were four or five cheese dips there right in front of me. I only left that spot to go to the bathroom, it was fabulous.

    • 40daykedge November 2, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

      Thanks girl. I work for the creative side of a marketing team and we’re the only 10 people out of 300 who dressed up last Friday. You gave me an idea to create and then post about some strategies for being near dips and chips. 🙂

Leave a Reply

