Coldest Running Club

29 Oct

Chicago’s had its first string of cold fall days and yesterday marked the first cold running club. When I signed up for the Hot Chocolate 15k I knew I’d be doing some training in the cold. So far we’ve been very lucky to have a warm October from mid-60s to mid-70s. But not yesterday, it was 45º and windy! A few brave souls came out for the run.

Running Club

Amanda, Me, Eugene

Although it wasn’t freakishly cold yet, I wanted to be sure to be prepared for the run. I did a little research on cold weather running and here is the most valuable information for running in 30º-45º:

• Wear layers so you can take stuff off as you get warm.
• Don’t over-dress, dress for 20º warmer than the actual temperature. It’s OK to be a little chilly when first getting outside.
• Warm up and stretch inside prior to going out for your run.
• Wear running gloves or mittens, and mittens are a better choice on colder days because your fingers will share their body heat.
• Wear a hat.

As you can see in the photo above, we were dressed adequately for the most part.

We ran for 58 minutes last night and I felt good the entire time. I was a little slower than normal, but I never felt cold once I started running. The two things I wished I had were running gloves and a hat. I’ll be researching and shopping for those over the weekend.

Does anyone have suggestions for a good pair of running gloves and hat?

Leave a Reply

