Eating Away from Home

26 Oct

Do you remember when I took that trip to San Francisco last month? For that trip I had done some meal planning to make sure that I could eat well, on a budget and not get enticed by hotel junk food. If you recall, I did some research and found that there was a Whole Foods close to our hotel. I decided to buy groceries and store them in the hotel fridge for the weekend. All went well.

Friday Morning

Oats with fresh fruit and peanut butter

Oats with fresh fruit and peanut butter

We had not yet gone to Whole Foods, but oatmeal is a hotel breakfast I can always count on. I like to eat my oats with fruit and peanut butter. This hotel also had fresh squeezed OJ, it was perfect way to start the day.

Friday Afternoon

Turkey and veggies bagel

Bagel with turkey and veggies

The afternoon rolled around and we opted to wait until later to hit up WF, instead we ate lunch at a cute bagel shop. I ordered a sesame wheat bagel (hollowed out, I don’t like to get full on the bread I prefer to fill my sandwich with veggies) with turkey, cheese,  hummus, sprouts, lettuce, tomatoes and avocado. The sandwich was so filling that I ate half and saved the other half for later.

Finally that evening we made it to Whole Foods. I didn’t have a concrete list. I’ve done enough meal planning and grocery shopping that I was able to get just enough for the weekend. The only detail left to handle was that there was no fridge in our hotel room. If you’re ever in a situation where you want to have a fridge in your hotel room and don’t here’s what you do… call the front desk and ask for one. 🙂 It works.

The rest of the weekend we ate food from our stash and the only time I bought anything at the hotel was the occasional tea and this amazing fruit tart.

Fruit Tart

Fruit Tart

It was delicious.

Overall this system worked out very well. The thing I will do differently next time is have a grocery list prepared ahead of time so that we can get to the store and get our food quickly. There was a bit of unnecessary running around.

I’ll be flying back to San Fran at the end of next month and will be in the same type of situation, staying at the same hotel, taking the same weekend class, with the same friends so I’ll get to test out this system again. For those of you who are committed to eating well and can’t make it to the grocery store, Whole Foods has a shopping and delivery service.

3 Responses to “Eating Away from Home”

  1. simplyshaka October 27, 2010 at 1:38 am #

    Hi–just found your blog and love it 🙂
    A) Jealous you get to go to SF–one of my fave cities!
    B) That bagel sandwich looks amazing!
    C) I do the same thing if I have a fridge in my hotel or if I am driving somewhere. It’s best to plan ahead and it’s so interesting seeing how much money you save while doing that.

  2. Danielle October 27, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    Yum! We still need to get together!!! And we should run together, although you’ll probably out-run me. Let’s make plans soon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eating Away from Home, Part 2 « Joanna's Fitness + Nutrition Blog - November 25, 2010

    […] Nov This past weekend I went to San Francisco again. If you’re wondering what I’m doing there, I’m taking a course over five weekends. The […]

Leave a Reply

