Life Priority List

21 Oct

Over the past few weeks I’ve been struggling greatly with my schedule. I have many projects, commitments and a full calendar. I schedule everything and I typically tell people, “if I don’t write it down, I won’t remember it.” For the most part this system has worked the past few years.

What’s been happening lately however is I’ve been feeling like I’m always working on stuff that I don’t care about. I feel like I have to get so many things out-of-the-way before I begin to work on the stuff I want to work on. For example, I experience not having enough time to plan my meals and I’m always cutting my workouts 5-10 minutes short. I’m spending a lot of time working on random favors and returning phone calls. Meanwhile I’m getting busier, missing events and double booking. Over the past few months any attempt at revising the way I schedule events has been unsuccessful, in fact it’s been getting worse.

Earlier this week, I worked with a friend who is masterful at scheduling. I wanted to get to the bottom of what’s been going on with my schedule. He had me make a list of all major areas of my life and major projects. I then ranked them from most important to least. The results were VERY eye-opening, I noticed that I have been spending most of my time working on the lowest ranked areas. The areas of my life that I care about the most have been getting the least amount of attention. It’s no wonder I have been experiencing such little satisfaction in life and why I have been so frustrated with my calendar.

Cooking, meal planning, exercising and spending time with my friends and family are on the top of my list. These are the things that keep me happy and I haven’t been making them a top priority. It’s time to change all that. I don’t know exactly how it’s all going to work out, but I can feel a major shift coming on.

This week I’m keeping a log of how I spend my time to see where the hours of the day go versus where I think they go. Although nothing has changed in my calendar, I now know what’s important to me and it’s already become easier to make choices on what to participate in and what to decline.

Do any of you have a life priority list? Have you found that it helps with your scheduling and planning?

One Response to “Life Priority List”

  1. Katie October 22, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    Joanna, that’s a great idea, writing down how you actually spend your time vs how you think you spend it. I’ll have to give it a try! Do you ever read the blog the shu box? Sarah has had some great similar discussions lately and reviews of the book 168 hours: you have more time than you think. You might enjoy checking it out.

Leave a Reply

