Stick to the Original Plan

14 Oct

Last night I had one of those nights where I had every valid excuse in the world for not working out. First, my legs were sore from Tuesday night’s workout. Our running club run was scheduled for 4.30pm. Then, some things came up at work that had us start later than expected. When I finally got around to changing at 5.30pm I realized I was missing a very important piece of equipment, my sports bra. I could have taken this as a sign, maybe the heaven’s don’t want me to run today my legs hurt, we’re running late and now this. While that may be so, I decided that I was going to be the one that get’s to say when I run and when I don’t.

My running partner, Amanda, and I devised a plan. We made a pit stop at TJ Maxx to buy a sports bra and continued with our running plans. I got my sports bra and bought a new long-sleeve running shirt, threw away the stained, holey t-shirt I was wearing (it was time to retire that thing anyway) and took off for our run along the Chicago lake front.

It was a tough run, I’m not going to lie, my calves and my quads were sore the entire time. Even after a warm up I couldn’t get my muscles to stop hurting. Typically on Wednesdays I work on heart rate training, yesterday it was all about finishing without stopping. We would up running four miles up and around Navy Pier and we got to watch the sunset over the beautiful Chicago skyline.

 

Navy Pier in Chicago, view from Aon Building.

Image via Wikipedia

 

In the end I felt great, not because the run made me feel better but because I took control of what I was going to do. a I did not give in the circumstances of forgetting stuff at home and having sore muscles. (As a side note, I am not injured, I am following a training schedule under the supervision of a personal trainer where muscle soreness is expected. I also have days for rest, recovery and massage. If you are injured or have extreme muscle fatigue please consult a health professional before pushing yourself.)

What made the experience great yesterday was that I chose to stick to my commitment. Exercise in and of itself has many benefits but it is the ability to have a commitment and stick to it that had this experience be so rewarding.

So next time you want to skip a workout just because it seems like things aren’t going smoothly, just stick to it. You will feel better that you did. I have yet to regret choosing gym over no gym.

3 Responses to “Stick to the Original Plan”

  1. Marvin October 14, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    That’s so great, Joanna! I have a bodybuilder buddy from college, and he always says that it’s the days where you dont want to go to the gym that are the most productive. If nothing else, you learn just how easy it is to push past “barriers” and motivate yourself. I know you obviously don’t need my encouragement, but I’m proud of you for this one!

  2. Adriana October 14, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    OMG same thing happened to me last week at the gym!!! I tried running anyway but after .1 miles realized I was really uncomfortable so…wait for it, you’ll be proud…I tried a new pilates class at the gym. I loved it! I got a workout in and met my recent goal of at least attempting to cross train. It felt really good to make lemonade from that lemon kinda day.

  3. K October 19, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    Wow. The sunset sounds like a reward from the Heavens đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

