Getting Ready to Travel

20 Sep

Good morning everyone, I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend. I’m liking this Monday today. It’s not a common thing for people to like Mondays, but I think Monday gets a bad rep. I feel like every Monday is a fresh start, a brand new work week filled with opportunities, opportunities to be more productive, to step up my game with workouts, to break old habits. Particularly when I get enough sleep on Sunday, this is my experience of Mondays.

For me, the best way to have a great Monday is to plan as much of my week as I can on Sunday. That includes having planned:
• workouts
• sleep
• meals for the week
• having my clothes ready and picked out for the morning
• setting my coffee maker to brew as soon as I wake up
• deciding which train to take (I travel to work on a commuter train with a set schedule).

Later in the week I will be traveling, I’ll be in a situation where I’ll responsible for all my meals, but mostly I’ll be stuck with hotel food options. Not that there is anything wrong with hotel food, I just don’t always make the best choices when eating at hotel restaurants, not to mention that for a person traveling on a budget hotel meals are not exactly the most cost efficient. I eat 4-5 meals per day along with a snack or two in-between and to be eating out that many times is just not going to work for me.

So I’ve been doing some planning, I’m going to find a grocery store near by and buy my own food for the week. I won’t be able to buy anything that requires cooking, and I may be limited to things like sandwiches and salads, but I think I’m on to something. I’ll be sharing my hotel room with a friend who has a special diet who eats exclusively raw. We are going to call the hotel to request that there be an empty refrigerator on account of his special diet. We also know that there is a Whole Foods near the hotel, we’re also going to find out the hours and find a time to buy the food we need from there.

As I commit to eating healthier and eating more raw vegetables and fruits I don’t want to leave my food choices up to chance. I know that if I spend the weekend eating pastas, pizzas, fries and other ‘junk foods’ I will be sluggish and it will be that much harder to get back into my routine when I get back home.

I’ve never tried anything like this before. It’s an experiment! I’m sure I will learn plenty about meal planning and travel that I’ll be able to share when I get back.

If you’ve attempted to meal plan to this extent while traveling and you have some tips for me, please let me know. I’d love to hear from you.

3 Responses to “Getting Ready to Travel”

  1. K September 23, 2010 at 2:35 am #

    Love it! I am always amazed what a difference laying clothes out the night before makes. It saves maybe 10 min of time in the AM, but how it makes you feel-like things are running smoothly-has really been valuable for me! I have been really sluggish lately and am considering giving candida diet a try again.

  2. Missy September 27, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    Hi! I eat gluten free and I find that restaurants that are more aware of nutrition tend to offer gluten free options. This site may help: http://www.glutenfreerestaurants.org/find.php When I travel, which is a major challenge bc I primarily eat only organic/grass fed, grass finished meats, I usually bring snacks with me to fill in for the challenges of restaurants. Hitting Whole Foods and having a fridge will be a great help! Safe and happy travels. (PS – Tony says hi….)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eating Away from Home « Joanna's Fitness + Nutrition Blog - October 26, 2010

    […] you remember when I took that trip to San Francisco last month? For that trip I had done some meal planning to make sure that I could eat well, on a […]

Leave a Reply

