Feeling Great in my Skin-Bag

16 Sep

Fitness and health have been an important part of my life since I can remember. I think I’ve intuitively known the importance of fresh, natural ingredients since I was 8 years old when I made my first batch of brownies from scratch. Even at 8 I knew that there was something off about buying brownie mix from a box and just adding water.

You could say that this fitness journey has been a lifelong journey. I am in the best shape of my life at 30 years old. I’d say that the last three years have been the most significant part of the journey and particularly the last three months.

Over the last three years I’ve learned to eat for fueling my body and having it work as efficiently as possible. I rarely eat for emotional reasons anymore, and I especially don’t eat ‘treats’ because I’m having a bad day. I have participated in six triathlons, a five-mile race, the Hustle up the Hancock and can hold my own in the weights area of the gym.

All of this work has paid off, I feel great, I look great and others are noticing too. I was with my family over the weekend for my cousin’s baby’s Christening and many of them I haven’t seen in over a year. I had at least five people tell me how great I look and/or ask me what I’ve been doing. My answer, “Changing my lifestyle. Eating organic, naturally growing foods and not eating anything processed and diligently working out with my personal trainer.”

It is that simple. Of course there’s more to say and there is the day-to-day stuff I deal with, but after all that’s what this blog is for. 🙂

My point, however, is that I am so happy to be a woman who is proud of her physique, able to take compliments and fulfill on a secret dream I’ve had since being a teenager. Where I’ve never been too heavy, I’ve been a size 12 for most of my teenage and adult life. I just bought some size 4 pants and feel comfortable wearing spandex shorts now. When I was  younger I would look at girls wearing spandex shorts and think that there was something wrong with them, like maybe they don’t eat or something. Secretly I just wanted to look as good as they did in the shorts, I was jealous and didn’t see how it was possible. I too wanted to look that good, but I did not want to compromise my health and didn’t know how to achieve it.

Over the wedding weekend I got one of the nicest complements I have ever received from the bride. She posted on her Facebook page under my photo “Joanna you took 1st place in my favorite dress of the night! You looked stunning!” Awwww, how sweet is that! You could call it bragging, but I am taking the complement and sharing it with you all loud and proud. 🙂

Me

Me at Vanessa's wedding

The best part is that I’ve only just begun. I will be running the longest running race of my life later this year, I’m still lifting weights, I’m learning to cook more delicious recipes as the days go by and I am learning to have those around me support me in my fitness goals and take on their own.

Are you the type that loves to take complements or do you shy away from them?

2 Responses to “Feeling Great in my Skin-Bag”

  1. Katie September 16, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    Yay Joanna! Good for you for owning your accomplishments and being proud of them. I think it’s great if you can get a compliment and just say “Thanks!” whether or not you necessarily agree with it. I had a lady tell me at work the other day that I had a beautiful complexion – it really brightened my day, because sometimes I struggle with my skin and have freckles and all that, so I don’t always feel good about my complexion. I think giving compliments to strangers and friends is one of the more meaningful things you can do!

  2. MacKenzie @ Fighting the Pudge September 16, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    WOO HOO! Everything you said is right on, lady! I agree with Katie, too, that giving compliments to strangers and friends is one of the more meaningful things you can do. It doesn’t happen enough and sometimes others seem totally caught off guard when paid a nice compliment. But here’s making an effort to make that change a regular part of the world. WOO HOO!

Leave a Reply

