Vital Nights

26 Aug

A week ago Wednesday I attended/co-hosted (as part of the Junior Networking Committee) the 4th installment of the Vital Nights event series.

Kehoe lighbox

Our custom LED light box, Kehoe Designs (Photo Credit: Rena Brenner)

I am part of the the Junior Networking Committee, JNC,  for Vital Bridges. Our mission is  to raise money and awareness for Vital Bridges through fun, social after-work events. Vital Bridges’ mission is to help people throughout metropolitan Chicago impacted by HIV and AIDS improve their health and build self-sufficiency by providing food, nutrition, housing, case management and prevention services. Given my commitment for healthy food and wellness being available for all people, when the opportunity to join the group came up I jumped at the chance.

I haven’t shared much about my community involvement yet on this blog, but that is a very big part of my life. I support various charities and causes because I belive that all causes are important and every last dollar and every minute spent volunteering makes a world of  difference.

I’ve had the opportunity and privilege of volunteering at one of the Vital Bridges’ food pantries on a day when it was open for clients to pick up their food. Having volunteered there had me see just how much I have to be grateful for. I have my health, my family, a caring boyfriend and a job that allows me to buy the best quality food. All those things I very easily take for granted. It also opened my eyes to how many people are in need and just how far the money we raise goes. I was moved to tears by what an important service this organization provides.

The event on Wednesday 8.18.2010 was held at the super cool Hard Rock Hotel Chicago. The evening was filled with a great crowd munching, sipping on St. Germain cocktails and listening to Megan Taylor. We had some amazing food sponsors at this event I’ll let the photos speak for themselves:

Sushi Rolls from Hub 51

Hub51

Sushi Rolls from Hub51 (Photo Credit: Rena Brenner)

Pasta from Bice

Bice

Pasta from Bice (Photo Credit: Rena Brenner)

Delicious desserts from More Cupcakes

More Cupcakes

More Cupcakes (Photo Credit: Rena Brenner)

And drink sponsors SmartWater (I’m happy that they showed up with SmartWater and not Vitamin water.)

SmartWater station

SmartWater station (Photo Credit: Rena Brenner)

The Liquor Sponsor St Germain

St Germain

St. Germain (Photo Credit: Rena Brenner)

We had amazing raffle prizes and my friend Mike won a pair of theater tickets and a trip to the salon.

Mike Winning Raffle

Mike wins a raffle prize (Photo Credit: Rena Brenner)

I’ll be posting more about my involvement with this organization and others in the future. For those of you who live in the area I hope to see you out at our next events.

Daily Actions, Day 3
• Logging my food intake everyday — done
• Doing my workouts and logging them everyday — done
• Getting 7-8 hours of sleep per night — last night I got just under 7
• Ask at least one person per day one of two questions: – done
What are your dreams? What do you like about your life? What are you grateful for?

In addition to the daily actions I will take some other miscellaneous actions:
(These won’t get a check mark until I do them later in the month, but I’m keeping them here as a reminder)
• Host a ‘Clean’ dinner party at my home once a month
• Get a Sub Max test
• Clean two closets
• Paint bedroom walls

Leave a Reply

