Like-Minded Ladies @ Healthy Living Summit

16 Aug

What a weekend! This weekend started with the Healthy Living Summit which was a meet-up of health-minded women many of whom are bloggers. I have to admit in the morning I was a little nervous to go by myself. I had these visions of sitting at a table by myself all day not having anyone to talk to. Silly me because once I got there it felt like a homecoming. 🙂 I had walked into  into a room full of women who all care about being healthy, eating well and living a balanced life.

I spent the day at a table with these cool women.

New Friends

New friends

From left to right are Katie, me, Kate, Renagh and MacKenzie.

The day was filled with encouraging words from veteran bloggers who care very much for their blogging community and making sure it stays a safe, supportive place for all. There was a kick-butt yoga session, some great sponsor give-aways, a cool game where I won some awesome placemats and this yummy lunch.

Lunch

Lunch

And the best gift bag I’ve ever received. I can’t wait to try the samples in here and use the coupons (I love free stuff).

Goodie bag

Swag Bag

I am very grateful to have attended the Summit this year and look forward to it next year.

This weekend was about having fun and having it all. After the Summit I went a bacherotte party for a little while for this lovely bride to be (the one with the feather boa)…

Monique, me and Sylvia

Monique, me and Sylvia

I’ve known Sylvia (on the far right) since childhood. It was very exciting to be a part of her pre-wedding festivities. The first part of the evening was at the Wit hotel where we grabbed appetizers and some drinks.

Goat cheese bruschetta

Goat cheese bruschetta

This goat cheese bruschetta was my favorite. The ladies went on for further adventures in a super long limo and I had to stop there.

Sunday morning we helped some friends move. Then we spent the rest of the afternoon at the pool going down waterslides:

Me on the waterslide

Me shooting out of the waterslide

It was a very full event-packed weekend and I’m sleepy, not exhausted, just ready for bed. I want to point out that I had a very active weekend and I was awake and energized through all of it. I don’t plan to have such busy weekends all the time but when I do I know that I’m healthy enough that it won’t take a toll on my body.

One of the many benefits of eating clean and exercising is being able to do more and have more energy as you’re doing it.

Also I’ll have that additional foam roller post up later in the week.

6 Responses to “Like-Minded Ladies @ Healthy Living Summit”

  1. MacKenzie August 16, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    Hey Joanna! It was fantastic meeting you on Saturday at HLS! Love 40 Day Kedge 🙂
    It’s on my blogroll! If you ever find yourself in the city, please let me know. Would be fab to do coffee sometime. Cheers@

    • 40daykedge August 16, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

      Hey MacKenzie! It was great to meet you too! I’m so happy to have met you on Saturday.
      Thanks for visiting. I went on yours briefly yesterday, is it three of you writing on there?
      That’s such a great idea. I will add you too, as soon as I figure out how to. 🙂

  2. Hangry Pants August 16, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

    It was really great meeting you and your comments during the sessions were great. Good luck with all of your healthy adventures. 🙂

    • 40daykedge August 17, 2010 at 3:04 am #

      Thanks so much Heather! The event was so much fun. I was really happy when it was interactive. I love speaking in front of groups.

  3. Deb Morton August 18, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Thanks for filling us in on the Summit – the pictures are great especially the water slide shoot:) Look forward to hearing more about the Summit tidbits.

    • thelifestyleguy May 25, 2011 at 6:45 am #

      Wow! I’m feeling left put as this looked like a fantastic day! Full of energetic, healthy and like minded people! I think being healthy and looking after yourself really has to be a lifestyle thing and having fun while you’re doing it is even more important!

Leave a Reply

