Foam Rolling

13 Aug

After years of abuse rigorous exercise I’ve developed all kinds of funny never-been-there-before aches and pains. My ankles hurt. My left butt cheek is sore. My hamstrings are tight. Those are just a few.

I’m naturally very flexible. Somewhere, sometime in this funny mind of mine I made up that I don’t need to stretch that much because I’m already flexible. That was a horrible idea. My muscles are very tight from all these years of not stretching properly.

One of the few things that relieves my aches and pains is rolling on a foam roller.

Foam Roller

Foam Roller

For those of you who have never heard of a foam roller or don’t know what it’s for you can read about it in detail on about.com, I like their explanation.

A foam roller is a giant foam tube. They come in different shapes and sizes, but the most common are about 4 ft long. Some of the benefits of foam rolling are relief in muscle tightness, soreness, pain and increased range of motion.

I don’t always roll, but when I do it helps warm up my muscles before any workout. I have started to do a small routine and that helps warm up my muscles before stretching. So far I haven’t been very consistent in rolling and stretching everyday. I am definitely going to include stretching and rolling into my daily habits for my next challenge.

4 Responses to “Foam Rolling”

  1. Josh dimand August 13, 2010 at 5:05 am #

    I bought a foam roller and I too haven’t used it as much as I should. You talk about incorporating it into your routine more- I’d love it if you would share some good tips & exetcises to do on the foam roller.

    • 40daykedge August 13, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

      Josh, I can blog more in depth about rolling over the weekend. I have a routine that I’ve found works really well for me, I work on my glutes, hamstrings, quads and calves. . I’ll include pics too that’ll work better then just a text description. The great thing about the foam roller is that you can experiment with it and change things up as you go.

  2. Maura Ardam August 13, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    Hi! 🙂 I have a foam roller. It kills! I guess that means my muscles are toooooo tight! Probably because of lack of stretching, which means I should use the foam roller more. lol.. Someone of facebook mentioned it helps rid of knee pain. I’d be interested in that! I remember when my old personal trainer rolled the foam roller onto my quads, I was screaming, it hurt like torture…

    • 40daykedge August 13, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

      Hi Maura! No lies, the foam roller kills at first and it is because your muscles are tight.
      But it does get better as you release your muscles.

      My friend Sara mentioned it on facebook. I’ll ask around and do some research of what
      other folks have done and I’ll ask a few experts. 🙂 I’ll include that in my next foam rollin’ post.

Leave a Reply

