No TV

28 Jul

Do you know that on average people watch 30+ hours of TV per week. (I learned this in a presentation at work last week). My first reaction was “Whoa. That’s like almost another full-time job.” I also laughed to myself that I am not any part of this statistic since I don’t own a TV.

Over the past few years I’ve had people comment on how much I do and get done outside of work. This statistic explains it all. 🙂 With more than 30 hours to do things other than watching TV, I can definitely get creative with the use of my time.

Not having a television was not the easiest thing to do at first, especially with people’s utter shock at me sharing that. Most of the time the reaction I get from people is “How do you live?” or “I could never do that!” or “How are you working in marketing without knowing what’s going on in the world?” You know, you’d be really surprised at how much I know about even though I don’t watch TV on a regular basis. I know all about the Jersey Shore and the latest Old Spice commercial that’s taking the media world by storm and everything that I care to know about the BP oil spill.

With life as busy as it gets I am really grateful that I have one less habit that sucks away my time.

How does TV impact  your day, either by watching too much or not at all? Are there any positive aspects to watching television? Could you live without a TV?

What would you do with 30 extra hours per week?


Leave a Reply

