“Diet” Clarification + Dinner

2 Jul

A couple people mentioned that in my ‘Burnout’ post from the night before last, it sounded like I was on a diet and perhaps limiting my food intake. That is not what I meant, nor is it what I’m doing. I will refer to diet over and over in these posts, so I’d like to define it for you. I am going by Mac’s “Oxford American Dictionary” definition: the kinds of food that a person, animal, or community habitually eats.

Diet is what I habitually eat, and I am in the process of changing my habitual patterns of eating. That’s what made noticing that I was in the habit of eating mostly proteins in my diet was so great.  I have been incorporating more variety into what I eat over the last two days. Today, my body feels great again.

As an example, here’s what I ate for dinner last night:

Shrimp, Potatoes & Green Bean Pomogranate Salad

Shrimp, Potatoes & Green Bean Pomogranate Salad

As I was making this dish, it seemed like a random combo but as I was eating it was the perfect dish after my workout last night!

Here’s how I made it:
The potatoes are diced and fried in 1 TBS of olive oil, with a dash of chili powder and garlic powder. The shrimp is sauteed in olive oil and tossed with fresh minced garlic.

Green bean Salad
1/4 lb fresh green beans
(These were beans from my mom’s garden, amazingly fresh and delicious,
can’t get any more locally grown than that)
Seeds from 1/4 pomegranate
1 TBS olive oil
1 TBS balsamic vinegar
1/2 tsp each of: dried tyme, rosemary, oregano
(You can use fresh herbs too, I just happen to have dried ones, just chop them up about 1-2 tsp of each and use those instead)

Boil green beans 5 minutes in a small pot. When finished boiling drain and cool with cold water. In a separate bowl combine olive oil, vinegar and herbs and mix together.

Slice green beans to preference, I cut mine in thirds since they were pretty long. Toss with pomegranate seeds and drizzle “dressing” mixture over green beans. It works well over the potatoes and shrimp too.

If you try it, let me know!

Leave a Reply

