Muffins at Midnight

15 Jun

Midnight is a great time for making muffins.  A few months ago I discovered these vegan zucchini date muffins on ChoosingRaw.com. They are absolutely delicious. I’ve been craving them for a few weeks and now that I’m running more I want to have plenty of clean post-run snacks around.

Zucchini Date Muffins

Zucchini Date Muffins

Not sure that midnight was an ideal time to bake these but I will be so happy when I have them after today’s boot camp.

Also, since it’s gotten warmer I’ve been obsessing over Arugula. This is the third day in a row that I’ve prepared this salad.

ShrimpBlackberrySalad

Shrimp & Blackberry Salad

Ingredients:
1 cup organic baby arugula
1/3 cup organic blackberries
1/2 organic zucchini, sliced
1 small Persian cucumber, sliced
2 TBS green onion, chopped
1 lemon wedge
6 wild caught jumbo gulf shrimp
1 tsp coconut oil

Saute the shrimp in coconut oil over medium-high heat, toss all ingredients in lemon juice and enjoy. This salad takes less than 10 minutes to prepare.

For all of you muffin lovers I leave you with, Muffins, a clip by one of my favorite comedians.

Which seasonal fruits and veggies are you craving right now? Do you have a favorite muffin flavor or recipe?

5 Responses to “Muffins at Midnight”

  1. sam June 15, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    When you say muffins, it reminds me of that Liam Lynch video!! Mmmm your food looks amazing! So fresh and delicious!! Why can’t we be roommates NOW (so you can cook for me all the time!)??? :)

    • Joanna B. June 15, 2011 at 11:24 am #

      I would totally cook for you if we were roomies, too bad I didn’t have these skills in college!

  2. simplyshaka June 15, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    I’ve never made anything with dates before-I don’t even know where to find them in the store. All I know is I’m singing “Joanna makes muuuuuufins at night” to the tune of “I wear my sunglasses at night”

    • Joanna B. June 15, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

      HAHAHAHA! I think you would like dates, you can get them at Trader Joe’s, Whole Foods and any Middle Eastern market, maybe even grocery stores. Next time i see you I’ll bring you some.

  3. ShareItFitness June 23, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Those muffins look delicious!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

