I am not a Runner

10 Jun

Recently I told a friend that I am not a runner. Really. I’m not.

As a young girl, I watched Ironman competitions on TV thinking it was the coolest thing ever and that I could never do that because I am not a runner.

In high school, I had a hard time running a 12-minute mile, I think my fastest was 13:30. Always in the back with the slow pack. In college I dabbled in treadmill and never made it much past 2-miles @ 12-minutes a piece huffing and puffing the entire time.

Then came the late twenties when I tried my hand at triathlon, I did 6 my first year. I’d smoke most people in the water, I felt strong on the bike and everyone would pass me when it came to the run. The fact that they were all  passing me didn’t even matter, I felt slow. My legs were heavy and my lungs never quite big enough. I was not a runner.

I don’t like feeling limited. I don’t like to feel like I can’t do something. So I signed up for a 15k race. Had Armando train me for it. I finished with an awesome pace. I signed up for a 10K. Armando kept training me. A month later I ran it and shaved a minute off my pace. All of sudden I was capable of running 9:15 miles. That was fast for someone who’s not a runner.

This year, I completed a 3.5 mile race and to my surprise was the fastest woman in my company. Two days later I completed a 10-mile race. The 10-mile run felt awesome. Sure people were passing me up, but I felt fast. Legs were strong, I had plenty of space in my lungs, I felt like I was flying. I was a runner.

Running Club

Me after a midweek run

Now I wonder what else I’m telling myself that I’m not capable of that I can actually do. I have a few ideas, but I bet I’m not alone. All those things you don’t think you can do, I bet you can.

Is there something you’ve recently accomplished that you were sure you couldn’t do? What’s something you tell yourself you can’t do?

10 Responses to “I am not a Runner”

  1. sam June 10, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    good for you, Joanna! you always inspire me!!

    • Carolyn Rogowski-Liptak June 11, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      She IS VERY inspirational…she’s the reason I started running again!

      • Joanna B. June 12, 2011 at 12:12 am #

        Thanks Carrie! Love you xoxo! I have a race for us to do together in October. Fill you in on the details soon.

  2. Katie June 10, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    Love the post – I am also “not a runner!” But the last 5k I ran I shaved off almost 2 minutes per mile from my first 5k!

    • Joanna B. June 11, 2011 at 11:50 am #

      Thanks Katie! That’s so awesome! I feel like sometimes it takes a little for our minds to catch up with our bodies.

    • Carolyn Rogowski-Liptak June 11, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      Great job Katie!

  3. simplyshaka June 11, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Ok, how do you look cute after a run? After a workout, I am a hot mess, red cheeks, sweat drenched hair….not a pretty sight. I never thought I would run but did a 5k last year. However, my knees didnt like that too much so I had to stop. I never thought I would have the balls to give up the security of a paycheck and leave me job and here I am!

    • Joanna B. June 12, 2011 at 12:11 am #

      Maybe I looked cute after the workout, but I didn’t smell cute. :) Way to go on the 5k and I know that was a big deal for you to leave your job. It was very courageous of you and I applaud you for making your own happiness a priority.

  4. katya June 15, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    Congrats! This is one of the major items in Dyer’s Excuses Begone book….he cites medical studies where mental attitudes have changed biological facts and the way the body functions.

    • Joanna B. June 15, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      How cool! I could see taking some of what he wrote and using it as a series on the blog. Now I will go return my overdue book and check out some of these audio books I’ve been wanting to get my hands on.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

