Racing and Blogging Friends

8 Jun

Where oh where have I been lately? I’ve been exercising, racing, eating well, meeting blogger friends, traveling, co-planning fundraising events and enjoying the Chicago summer.

For a quick update, in the last two weeks I ran a 3-mile race, a 10-mile race and registered for a half marathon:
Chase Corporate Challenge – Finished in 29:54, I was the fastest female at my company.
Soldier Field 10-Miler – Finished in 1:42:11, 10:14 pace, my longest distance race to date.
Rock N Roll Half Marathon – Registered for this race and signed up for a special training program at my gym. This will be my longest race ever. I’ll be blogging about my training as I go along in the coming months.

Also in the last week I met some blogging friends: Tiffany, Amy and Stacie. Thanks to Tiffany for coordinating the meet-up and picking a great spot, Coast Sushi in Bucktown. I officially love blogger meet-ups. Usually I get nervous meeting new people but you would have never known it with these ladies, we were chatting it up like old friends the entire three-hour dinner!

I ordered a seaweed salad and sashimi, two different tunas and salmon.

Sashimi

I’m not terribly picky about sushi, very easy to please. This place was especially fresh. I love sushi because it’s so easy to eat clean as long as you avoid the mayo and fried stuff. Sashimi is my dish of choice, unless brown rice rolls are available.

For dessert three of us split four pieces of mochi ice cream.

Green tea and tiramisu mochi ice cream

Green tea and tiramisu mochi ice cream

The pink one (tiramisu) was AMAZING! A small bite was the perfect end to the meal.

And here are the gorgeous ladies (excuse the red-eye):

Amy, Tiffany and Stacie

The beautiful Amy, Tiffany and Stacie

I was very happy to break my routine of staying in on Thursdays and go out to meet these women. Looking forward to the next meet-up.

What have you all been up to in the last couple of months? How have your fitness goals been going? Has anyone competed in any races or fulfilled on a weight loss goal? I’d love to hear from you!

3 Responses to “Racing and Blogging Friends”

  1. adyksterhouse June 8, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    I LOVE Coast Sushi. I have not ran any races nor completed my weigh loss goal. I want to loose 5 more pounds or 1 inch (whichever happens first).

    Recently I have increased my exercise as well as making it part of my lifestyle such as biking instead of driving.

  2. Amy @ Second City Randomness June 8, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    I don’t remember if we discussed the Rock n’ Roll half? I did it last year and it was so much fun!

    When my life settles down a bit and gets a little less crazy, we should think about hitting Busse trail??? :)

    • 40daykedge June 8, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

      We didn’t discuss, but I am exited to do it this year. Are you signing up? Absolutely once you get settled in and things calm down let’s hit up the trail and visit with the Elk.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

