Schitzo Shrimp and More

22 Apr

Happy earth day everyone! I’m ba-ack. After a month-long hiatus from blogging I am back and ready to share my food and fitness adventures again.

Over the past month I’ve made many changes to the way I eat and workout. For a couple of weeks I have been keep track of my calorie intake via sparkpeople.com to see how many calories I am actually consuming throughout the day. Initially when I began to lose weight and lean out the thing that made the biggest difference was keeping a food journal. I wrote down everything I ate and that way I was accountable for it. I wouldn’t track calories but I used it as a system to make sure I was eating the right kinds of foods.

Now that my goals are more specific – I want to lose 3% body fat – I have to be more rigorous with what I eat and make sure I eat enough calories. The nice thing about that site is that it gives me a breakdown of the types of calories I am consuming. They have a cool pie chart of my fat, carbohydrate and protein intake. What I don’t like about Spark People is the user interface. It loads slowly even on a high-speed internet connection. It’s a very frustrating. There are also lists of foods with nutritional information pre-filled, but many of the specialty foods that I eat like grass-fed ground beef are not in the system. So I have to go to other sites find the nutritional content and enter it myself. I’ve stopped using it and am on the hunt for a different calorie tracking program. If anyone has suggestions I am willing to try it.

On the workout front, I have been working out for longer periods of time, less intensely. It’s very different from running as fast as possible and always going all-out at the gym. It’s a nice change of pace but it’s taking some getting used to. I’m spending more time at the gym. I’ve been planning my workouts around the time CSI and all the crime shows are on so the time flys.

Finally, I have been cooking up a storm. Making sure that I have enough food with me throughout the day. That’s been a bit of an adjustment as well, but I love trying new foods and new ‘clean’ recipes. This was dinner from earlier this week, cheesy corn grits with a zucchini shrimp saute. It was delicious and the recipe is from this month’s Clean Eating magazine.

Shrimp Saute with Cheesy Grits

Shrimp Saute with Cheesy Grits

The recipe is even more delicious than that it looks and it serves 6, I’ve made about 5 meals out of it.

Have any of you made any changes to your eating habits or workouts? Do you have a calorie tracking program that you just love? I’d love to hear from you.

P.S. This is a random piece of news,  but my super awesome brother and I were featured in an article in the Wall Street Journal this past Tuesday.

5 Responses to “Schitzo Shrimp and More”

  1. Katie April 22, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    Glad you’re back! I have been taking it a little bit easy since I ran my 2nd half marathon a couple of weeks ago. Need to get back on track! Good luck and I’ll be interested to know if you find any great sites to keep track of nutrition stuff – I feel like there’s not one really good one out there that can do it all. I use calorieking sometimes though.

  2. simplyshaka April 24, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    Glad to see you back! Funky, I was just talking about shrimp and grits this wknd because alot of restaurants offer it here but I can’t imagine the two living together in harmony. Holy runon sentence batman! Anyways, everyone tells me that it tastes amazing so I may have to look into it since I just bought some shrimp–thanks for sharing.

    That’s an interesting article, very cool you all were featured in it. I have a difficult time expressing myself when I am angry so I learned some pointers.

  3. Jen April 27, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Joanna – recipe looks delicious! I use myfitnesspal.com to track food/calories, and am finding it UBER user friendly!

    • 40daykedge April 27, 2011 at 11:16 am #

      Thanks for the tip Jen. I will take a look at that site.

  4. jillian June 3, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    yummm those grits look ahhhmazing! xoxo jillian:: enter to win a leigh viner print!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

