Raw Delicious Decadent Dessert

25 Feb

I was able to salvage all of the photos from the memory card from the camera I killed earlier this week! I am very excited to share with you an amazing dessert that I made twice last weekend: sliced pink lady apples with slices of raw Gruyère cheese topped with raw honey and chopped pecans.

Raw apple dessert

Raw apple dessert

It’s 100% raw. 100% delicious. 100% decadent. 100% healthy.

It’s very easy to be this fancy. As long as you have some small plates you can easily impress your friends and family at your next dinner party.

Chop up some apples, place cheese slice on top, drizzle with raw (unheated) honey and sprinkle with raw pecans. The sweetness of the honey, the savoriness of the cheese and tartness of the apples create a unique blend of flavors that won’t be forgotten. I’m already thinking of variations of this with pears, brie, slivered almonds and honey.

Do you have a favorite raw dessert? I’d love to try it.

P.S. I’ve been so immersed in sharing delicious healthy food that I forgot to mention that I am doing the Hustle Up the Hancock on Sunday, 95 flights of stairs baby! I did the climb last year in 20:30 and my goal is to finish in 18 minutes. I’ll let you all know how it goes.

6 Responses to “Raw Delicious Decadent Dessert”

  1. gmomj February 25, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Ya gotta love an easy and impressive dessert!
    Thanks for reminding me good doesn’t have to mean complicated!

    • 40daykedge February 25, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

      You are very welcome! I tend to make things complex myself so this was easy and great to serve to my guests.

  2. Danielle February 26, 2011 at 3:22 am #

    Looks good! 🙂

  3. simplyshaka February 26, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    I can’t believe you did that in 20 minutes last year–that is amazing! Good luck tomorrow!

    Hooray for your pics being salvaged. The dessert looks terrific. I’ve never had apples with Gruyere just with brie but I love Gruyere!

  4. adyksterhouse February 28, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    How did the bowling party go last week? Also, what do you do about drinking?

    • 40daykedge March 3, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

      I’m going to do a special post about drinking! And I replied in your last comment too, but I have more to say. Figure sometime next week.

Leave a comment